Les Voix de la Vallée

Olivier Schwartz and Ariel Kyrou

Viruses as friends, viruses as enemies… Science and science fiction

Book a ticket

Location: Fondation Cartier pour l’art contemporain, view access map
Prices and conditions


About the night class

As part of the exhibition The Valley by Fabrice Hyber, the Fondation Cartier invites director of the Virus & Immunity Unit at the Institut Pasteur Olivier Schwartz and writer and explorer of future imaginary worlds Ariel Kyrou to participate in the Voices of the Valley evening class series. Within the exhibition spaces, the two guest speakers discuss the hypotheses proposed by Fabrice Hyber in his paintings before a live audience.

Over the course of this evening, based on the works Placenta, Herb, Tubercule, and Grain de sable, the two experts discuss viruses, post-humanism, and the mutation of living species.

This live discussion will be broadcast simultaneously on the websites of the Fondation Cartier and *Duuu Radio, and in the form of podcasts via the main platforms.


With the participation of:

  • Picture Institut Pasteur.
    Olivier Schwartz

    Olivier Schwartz has been the director of the Virus & Immunity Unit at the Institut Pasteur since 2007. Author of 250 scientific publications, he is a specialist in human pathogenic viruses and their impact on the immune system. His research focuses on the HIV, Chikungunya, Zika, SARS-CoV-2, and Monkeypox viruses. The scientific questions he explores in his work are fundamental, aimed at understanding how viruses work, but also applied, in terms of improving treatment and vaccination strategies. He was Scientific Director of the Institut Pasteur from 2018 to 2019. He has also acted as co-organizer or scientific advisor of various exhibitions combining the arts and sciences, including Pasteur’ Spirit in 2010 and Sans Gêne by Fabrice Hyber in 2012; Organoïde-Pasteur, an artistic-scientific program at the Institut Pasteur; Vaincre le virus by Barthelemy Toguo at the Centre Georges Pompidou in 2016; Dans la bibliothèque de Pasteur avec Hervé Di Rosa in 2017, at the Institut Pasteur; and Micromonde: vivre avec les petits êtres, an exhibition at the Musée du Quai Branly in 2022.

  • Picture Actu SF.
    Ariel Kyrou

    Ariel Kyrou uses science fiction as a way of thinking about (and remedying) today’s world. An approach developed in his last two essays: Dans les imaginaires du futur (ActuSF, October 2020, to be reedited by Hélios in March 2023) and ABC Dick (ActuSF, October 2021). He oversaw the anthology of science-fiction short stories called Nos futurs solidaires (Actu SF and the Laboratoire des solidarités de la Fondation Cognacq-Jay, March 2022) and was the co-writer of the documentary film Les mondes de Philip K. Dick (Nova Prod, Arte, 2016), author of L’emploi est mort, vive le travail! (Mille et Une Nuits / Fayard, 2015) with Bernard Stiegler, and Techno Rebelle, Un siècle de musiques électroniques (Denoël, 2002). Editorial director of the Laboratoire des solidarités of the Fondation Cognacq-Jay and chief editor of the website solidarum.org in this role, he is also the associate director of Moderne Multimédias, as well as a member of the editorial collective of Multitudes magazine, and professor of contemporary culture and future imaginary worlds at the Université de Versailles / Saint-Quentin en Yvelines.


Practical information

Additional information

Estimated duration: 1 hour.
Discussions in French.
Free seating within the limit of available spaces.
Access to the classroom where the evening class is held upon presentation of the exhibition ticket.
This ticket includes access to the evening class on the date chosen when booking, as well as entry to the exhibition that same day from 5pm.
The evening classes are broadcast live on the websites of the Fondation Cartier and *Duuu Radio, before being made available in the form of podcasts.
Latecomers will not be allowed access to the event so as not to disturb the speakers or interfere with the audio recording. We thank the audience in advance for their punctuality.

Do you have a question?
Please see our Frequently Asked Questions

Les Voix de la Vallée

Olivier Schwartz et Ariel Kyrou

Virus amis, virus ennemis… Sciences et science-fiction

Réserver un billet

Lieu : Fondation Cartier pour l’art contemporain, voir plan d’accès
Tarifs et conditions


À propos du cours

Dans le cadre de l’exposition La Vallée de Fabrice Hyber, la Fondation Cartier invite Olivier Schwartz, directeur de l’Unité Virus & Immunité à l’Institut Pasteur, et Ariel Kyrou, essayiste explorateur d’imaginaires du futur, au programme de cours du soir Les Voix de la Vallée. Au sein de l’exposition, ils dialogueront en public afin d’éprouver les hypothèses proposées par Fabrice Hyber dans ses toiles.

Ce soir, prenant appui sur les œuvres Placenta, Herb, Tubercule ou encore Grain de sable, ces deux experts dans leur domaine discuteront des virus, de post-humanisme et de la mutation des vivants.

Une discussion à suivre aussi en direct sur le site de la Fondation Cartier et de *Duuu Radio, et à retrouver en podcast sur les principales plateformes d’écoute.


Avec la participation de :

  • Photo Institut Pasteur.
    Olivier Schwartz

    Il dirige l’Unité Virus & Immunité à l’Institut Pasteur depuis 2007. Auteur de 250 publications scientifiques, il est spécialiste des virus pathogènes pour l’homme et de leur interaction avec le système immunitaire. Ses recherches portent sur les virus HIV, Chikungunya, Zika, SARS-CoV-2 et Monkeypox. Les questions scientifiques sont fondamentales, visant à comprendre le fonctionnement des virus, mais aussi appliquées, pour améliorer les stratégies de traitement et de vaccination. Il a été directeur scientifique de l’Institut Pasteur en 2018-2019. Il a été co-organisateur ou conseiller scientifique de différentes expositions à la convergence des arts et des sciences, dont notamment Pasteur’ Spirit en 2010 et Sans Gêne en 2012 par Fabrice Hyber ; Organoïde-Pasteur, un programme entre artistes et scientifiques de l’Institut Pasteur ; Vaincre le virus par Barthelemy Toguo au Centre Georges Pompidou en 2016 ; Dans la bibliothèque de Pasteur avec Hervé Di Rosa en 2017, à l’Institut Pasteur ; Micromonde : vivre avec les petits êtres, une exposition au Musée du Quai Branly en 2022.

  • Photo Actu SF.
    Ariel Kyrou

    Il utilise la science-fiction pour penser (et panser) notre aujourd’hui. Une démarche concrétisée dans ses deux derniers essais : Dans les imaginaires du futur (ActuSF, octobre 2020, réédition en poche chez Hélios en mars 2023) et ABC Dick (ActuSF, octobre 2021), ainsi que dans l’anthologie de nouvelles de science-fiction qu’il a pilotée Nos futurs solidaires (Actu SF et le Laboratoire des solidarités de la Fondation Cognacq-Jay, mars 2022). Coscénariste du film documentaire Les mondes de Philip K. Dick (Nova Prod, Arte, 2016), il est aussi l’auteur de L’emploi est mort, vive le travail ! (Mille et Une Nuits / Fayard, 2015) avec Bernard Stiegler, ainsi que de Techno Rebelle, Un siècle de musiques électroniques (Denoël, 2002). Directeur éditorial du Laboratoire des solidarités de la Fondation Cognacq-Jay et à ce titre rédacteur en chef du site solidarum.org, il est le directeur associé de la société Moderne Multimédias. Membre du collectif de rédaction de la revue Multitudes, il enseigne les cultures actuelles et les imaginaires du futur à l’Université de Versailles / Saint-Quentin en Yvelines.


Informations pratiques

Informations complémentaires

Les jeudis à 19h.
Durée estimée : 1 heure.
Discussions en français.
Placement libre dans la limite des places disponibles.
Accès dans la salle du cours du soir sur présentation du billet d’exposition.
Ce billet comprend l’accès au cours du soir à la date choisie lors de la réservation ainsi que l'entrée pour l'exposition le même jour à partir de 17h.
Ces cours du soir sont diffusés en direct sur les sites de la Fondation Cartier et de *Duuu Radio avant de devenir des podcasts.
Les retardataires ne seront pas autorisés à accéder à la salle du cours du soir afin de ne pas perturber les intervenants ni gêner l’enregistrement audio. Nous vous remercions par avance pour votre ponctualité.

Vous avez une question ?
N’hésitez pas à consulter les Questions fréquentes