Les Voix de la Vallée

Michel Cassé and Pascal Rousseau

How to relate a life? Poetry, the landscape, and cosmology

This night class is completed.

View upcoming night classes

This night class is available on podcast.


About the night class

As part of the exhibition The Valley by Fabrice Hyber, the Fondation Cartier invites literary astrophysicist Michel Cassé and art historian Pascal Rousseau to participate in the Voices of the Valley evening class series. Within the exhibition spaces, the two guest speakers discuss the hypotheses proposed by Fabrice Hyber in his paintings before a live audience.

Over the course of this evening, based on the works La Serrie, paysage biographique de mes parents, Paysage biographique de Pierre Giquel, and Paysage biographique de la Vallée, the two experts in their field will ask themselves the question: “How to relate a life?” and will exchange on poetry, landscape, and cosmology. The work 9 dim is also the opportunity to evoke the nine dimensions of space.

This live discussion will be broadcast simultaneously on the websites of the Fondation Cartier and *Duuu Radio, and in the form of podcasts via the main platforms.


With the participation of:

  • Picture Thomas Salva.
    Michel Cassé

    Michel Cassé is a literary astrophysicist. Director of research (emeritus) at the CEA (Atomic and Alternatives Energy Commission), he specializes in stellar physics, nucleosynthesis, the study of radiation and quantum physics. He is currently working on highlighting the radiation of black holes predicted by Stephen Hawking, via their emission of gamma rays. In his books, he focuses on the relationship between man and the universe, exploring all areas of expertise, with philosophy, religion, and poetry never far away. Under the impetus of Michel Cassé, the Fleurance Circle of Astrophysics (in Gascony) was recently born and brings together scientists of all nationalities, in particular Ukrainian.

  • Picture Hugo Aymar.
    Pascal Rousseau

    Pascal Rousseau is a professor of art history at the Université Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne and at the Beaux-Arts de Paris. He also curated the following exhibitions: Robert Delaunay. De l’impressionnisme à l’abstraction (Centre Pompidou, 1999), Aux origines de l’abstraction. 1800-1914 (Musée d’Orsay, 2003), Cosa mentale. Les imaginaires de la télépathie dans l’art du XXe siècle (Centre Pompidou-Metz, 2015), and Hypnose. Art et hypnotisme de Mesmer à nos jours (Musée des Arts de Nantes, 2020). He is the author of some one hundred articles in journals and exhibition catalogues, including numerous contributions on the visual culture of early modernism and the links between art and experimental psychology. He has written numerous texts on the work of Fabrice Hyber, some of which were included in the latter’s first monograph, published by Hazan in 1999.



Practical information

Additional information

Thursdays at 7pm.
Estimated duration: 1 hour.
Discussions in French.
Free seating within the limit of available spaces.
Access to the classroom where the evening class is held upon presentation of the exhibition ticket.
This ticket includes access to the evening class on the date chosen when booking, as well as entry to the exhibition that same day from 5pm.
The evening classes are broadcast live on the websites of the Fondation Cartier and *Duuu Radio, before being made available in the form of podcasts.
Latecomers will not be allowed access to the event so as not to disturb the speakers or interfere with the audio recording. We thank the audience in advance for their punctuality.

Do you have a question?
Please see our Frequently Asked Questions

Les Voix de la Vallée

Michel Cassé et Pascal Rousseau

Comment faire le récit d’une vie ? Poésie, paysage et cosmologie

Ce cours est terminé.

Consulter les cours à venir

Ce cours est disponible en podcast.


À propos du cours

Dans le cadre de l’exposition La Vallée de Fabrice Hyber, la Fondation Cartier invite Michel Cassé, astrophysicien littérateur, et Pascal Rousseau, historien de l’art, au programme de cours du soir Les Voix de la Vallée. Au sein de l’exposition, ils dialogueront en public afin d’éprouver les hypothèses proposées par Fabrice Hyber dans ses toiles.

Ce soir, prenant appui sur les œuvres La Serrie, paysage biographique de mes parents, Paysage biographique de Pierre Giquel ou encore Paysage biographique de la Vallée, ces deux experts dans leur domaine se poseront la question : « Comment faire le récit d’une vie ? » et échangeront sur la poésie, le paysage ainsi que la cosmologie. L’œuvre 9 dim leur offrira également l’occasion d’évoquer les neuf dimensions de l’espace.

Une discussion à suivre aussi en direct sur le site de la Fondation Cartier et de *Duuu Radio, et à retrouver en podcast sur les principales plateformes d’écoute.


Avec la participation de :

  • Photo Thomas Salva.
    Michel Cassé

    Michel Cassé est un astrophysicien littérateur. Directeur de recherche (émérite) au CEA (Commissariat à l'énergie atomique et aux énergies alternatives), il est spécialisé dans la physique stellaire, la nucléosynthèse, l'étude des rayonnements et la physique quantique. Il travaille actuellement sur la mise en évidence du rayonnement des trous noirs prédit par Stephen Hawking, ceci par le biais de leur émission de rayons gamma. Dans ses ouvrages, il se préoccupe des relations entre l'homme et l'univers, abordant tous les domaines de la connaissance, les philosophies, les religions, et la poésie qui n'est jamais absente. Sous l’impulsion de Michel Cassé, le Cercle d’astrophysique de Fleurance en Gascogne est né récemment et réunit des scientifiques de toutes nationalités, notamment ukrainienne.

  • Photo Hugo Aymar.
    Pascal Rousseau

    Pascal Rousseau est professeur d’histoire de l’art à l’Université Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne et aux Beaux-Arts de Paris. Il a été notamment le commissaire des expositions Robert Delaunay. De l’impressionnisme à l’abstraction (Centre Pompidou, 1999), Aux origines de l’abstraction. 1800-1914 (Musée d’Orsay, 2003), Cosa mentale. Les imaginaires de la télépathie dans l'art du XXe siècle (Centre Pompidou-Metz, 2015) et Hypnose. Art et hypnotisme de Mesmer à nos jours (Musée des Arts de Nantes, 2020). Il est l’auteur d’une centaine d’articles dans des revues et catalogues d’exposition, dont de nombreuses contributions sur la culture visuelle du premier modernisme et les liens entre art et psychologie expérimentale. Il a consacré à l’œuvre de Fabrice Hyber de nombreux textes, dont sa première monographie parue aux éditions Hazan en 1999.



Informations pratiques

Informations complémentaires

Les jeudis à 19h.
Durée estimée : 1 heure.
Discussions en français.
Placement libre dans la limite des places disponibles.
Accès dans la salle du cours du soir sur présentation du billet d’exposition.
Ce billet comprend l’accès au cours du soir à la date choisie lors de la réservation ainsi que l'entrée pour l'exposition le même jour à partir de 17h.
Ces cours du soir sont diffusés en direct sur les sites de la Fondation Cartier et de *Duuu Radio avant de devenir des podcasts.
Les retardataires ne seront pas autorisés à accéder à la salle du cours du soir afin de ne pas perturber les intervenants ni gêner l’enregistrement audio. Nous vous remercions par avance pour votre ponctualité.

Vous avez une question ?
N’hésitez pas à consulter les Questions fréquentes