Sarah Sze, De nuit en jour / Night into Day

Purchase online

43.00 €

Publication Fondation Cartier pour l’art contemporain, Paris

Bilingual French/English version

Softback, 23.5 × 34 cm, 208 pages

48 different cover

150 color reproductions

Texts by Bruno Latour and Leanne Sacramone

Conversation between Sarah Sze and Jean Nouvel

ISBN: 978-2-86925-149-6

Publication: December 2020

Distributed in the USA and Canada by ARTBOOK | D.A.P.
Distributed in all other countries by Thames & Hudson Ltd

Price: €43
Preoder online: shipment from december 15

About the publication

More than twenty years after her first solo show at the Fondation Cartier pour l’art contemporain, American artist Sarah Sze presents from October 24, 2020 to March 7, 2021 two new sculptural installations in the exhibition spaces of Jean Nouvel’s iconic building. Commissioned by the Fondation Cartier, these large-scale works explore how the proliferation of images—printed in magazines, gleaned from the Web, intercepted from outer space—fundamentally changes our relation to physical objects, memories, and time.

Born 1969 in Boston, Sarah Sze lives in New York. Internationally renowned for her work challenging the frontiers between painting, installation, and architecture, she assembles everyday objects, images, and videos to create delicate and complex sculptural installations.

On the occasion of the exhibition, the Fondation Cartier conceived a richly illustrated catalog, designed in close collaboration with the artist, retracing the creation and the presentation of these two works. An essay by philosopher and sociologist Bruno Latour, a conversation between Sarah Sze and Jean Nouvel, and a text by the curator of the exhibition, offer a deeper understanding of these two works, as well as of the creative process of the artist and of the references that are omnipresent in her work.

Sarah Sze, De nuit en jour / Night into Day

Acheter en ligne

43,00 €

Éditions Fondation Cartier pour l’art contemporain, Paris

Version bilingue français / anglais

Broché, 23,5 × 34 cm, 208 pages

48 couvertures différentes

150 reproductions couleur

Textes de Bruno Latour et Leanne Sacramone

Conversation entre Sarah Sze et Jean Nouvel

ISBN : 978-2-86925-149-6

Parution : décembre 2020

Diffusion : Actes Sud
Prix : 43€
Précommande en ligne : envoi à partir du 15 décembre

À propos de la publication

Vingt ans après sa première exposition personnelle à la Fondation Cartier pour l’art contemporain, l’artiste américaine Sarah Sze y présente du 24 octobre 2020 au 7 mars 2021 deux nouvelles sculptures créées spécialement pour les espaces du bâtiment emblématique de Jean Nouvel. Commandées par la Fondation Cartier, ces œuvres aux dimensions architecturales explorent la manière dont la prolifération des images – imprimées dans les magazines, glanées sur le web ou prises depuis l’espace – modifie notre relation aux objets, à la mémoire et au temps.

Née en 1969 à Boston, Sarah Sze vit à New York. Internationalement reconnue pour son œuvre défiant les frontières entre peinture, installation et architecture, elle travaille à partir d’objets du quotidien, d’images et de vidéos qu’elle assemble dans des installations sculpturales d’une étonnante délicatesse et complexité.

À l’occasion de cette exposition, la Fondation Cartier publie un catalogue richement illustré, conçu en étroite collaboration avec l’artiste, retraçant la création et la présentation de ces deux œuvres. Cet ouvrage propose d’approfondir la conception de ces deux œuvres et d’explorer les références et les préoccupations qui se trouvent au cœur du travail de Sarah Sze à travers un essai inédit du philosophe et sociologue Bruno Latour, une conversation entre Sarah Sze et Jean Nouvel ainsi qu’un texte de la commissaire de l’exposition Leanne Sacramone.