Raymond Depardon, Rural

Purchase online

45.00 €

Publication Fondation Cartier pour l’art contemporain, Paris

Bilingual French/English version

Hardback, 35 × 28 cm, 124 pages, 86 black-and-white photographs

Text by Raymond Depardon

ISBN: 978-2-86925-162-5

Publication: October 2020

Distribution: Distributed in the USA and Canada by ARTBOOK | D.A.P.; Distributed in all other countries by Thames & Hudson Ltd
Price: 45 €

About the publication

During the 1990s and 2000s, Raymond Depardon crisscrossed agricultural France with his 6 x 9 view camera. From this exploration of the rural world, he made black-and-white photographs that tell the story of the land, the people, manual labour, the isolation and fragility of small farms, but also the beauty of the French countryside.

“These men and women who lived and persisted in cultivating these desolate lands were sages, philosophers, heroes, ahead of the impending, inevitable diminution. This political and ideological shock was a driving force for my project.” Raymond Depardon

Filmmaker, photographer and international journalist, Raymond Depardon, born in 1942 in Villefranche-sur-Saône, holds a unique place in the field of the contemporary image. In 1967, he co-founded the Gamma Agency, and in 1978, he joined the Magnum Agency for whom he would carry out reports all over the world up until the beginning of the 1980s. While continuing to practice photography on a daily basis, he later turned his attention to documentary film, making use of the direct cinema genre, including the Profils paysans trilogy: L’Approche, Le Quotidien and La Vie moderne (2001-2008).


Meeting and book signing with Raymond Depardon:

  • October 31 at 4pm at librairie Sauramps Comédie, Centre commercial Le Triangle, Allée Jules Milhau, 34000 Montpellier

Raymond Depardon, Rural

Acheter en ligne

45,00 €

Édition Fondation Cartier pour l’art contemporain, Paris

Version bilingue français/anglais

Relié, 35 × 28 cm, 124 pages, 86 photographies noir et blanc

Texte de Raymond Depardon

ISBN : 978-2-86925-162-5

Parution : octobre 2020

Diffusion : Actes Sud
Prix : 45 €

À propos de la publication

Au cours des années 1990 et 2000, Raymond Depardon sillonne la France paysanne avec sa chambre photographique 6 x 9. De cette exploration du monde rural, il réalise des photographies en noir et blanc qui racontent la terre, les hommes, le travail manuel, l’isolement et la fragilité des petites exploitations agricoles mais aussi la beauté des paysages français.

« Ces hommes et ces femmes qui habitaient et persistaient à cultiver ces territoires désolés étaient des sages, des philosophes, des héros, en avance sur l’indispensable décroissance à venir. Ce choc politique et idéologique a été un moteur pour mon projet. » Raymond Depardon

Cinéaste, photographe et journaliste international, Raymond Depardon, né en 1942 à Villefranche-sur-Saône, occupe une place singulière dans le champ de l’image contemporaine. Cofondateur de l’agence Gamma en 1967, il rejoint en 1978 l’agence Magnum et réalise des reportages dans le monde entier jusqu’au début des années 1980. Par la suite, tout en gardant une pratique quotidienne de la photographie, il tourne des films documentaires en cinéma direct dont la trilogie Profils paysans : L’Approche, Le Quotidien et La Vie moderne (2001-2008).

Rencontres et signatures avec Raymond Depardon :

  • Samedi 31 octobre à 16h à la librairie Sauramps Comédie, Centre commercial Le Triangle, Allée Jules Milhau, 34000 Montpellier