David Lynch, Digital Nudes

Available soon

Fondation Cartier pour l’art contemporain, Paris

Bilingual French/English version

Hardback, 25 × 34 cm, 240 pages

ISBN: 978-2-86925-166-3

Publication: November 2021

125 color and black-and-white photographs

About the publication

Experimenting with all forms of artistic creation, from painting to photography, from drawing to sound creation, David Lynch’s work appears to be the most protean of our time. In 2007, the Fondation Cartier pour l’art contemporain presented the exhibition-event The Air Is on Fire, which unveiled Lynch’s photographic and pictorial work. Nearly fifteen years later, the Fondation Cartier will publish Digital Nudes, an exceptional collection of the artist’s photographs dedicated to female nudes, as a follow-up to Nudes, published in 2017.

Second installment of the Lynchian saga devoted to the photographic exploration of the female body, Digital Nudes brings together a corpus of previously unpublished digital images in line with the aesthetics of Nudes’ analog photographs, while experimenting with the possibilities offered by digital technology.

Kaleidoscopic visions of legs, arms, or undefined curves, chiaroscuro portraits, photographs of varnished nails and lacquered mouths... So many examples of David Lynch’s treatment of one of the greatest artistic subjects, the female nude, which here becomes an ode to femininity, an invitation to contemplation and creative freedom.

David Lynch, Digital Nudes

Bientôt disponible

Fondation Cartier pour l’art contemporain, Paris

Bilingue français / anglais

Relié, 25 × 34 cm, 240 pages

ISBN : 978-2-86925-166-3

Parution : novembre 2021

125 photographies couleur et noir et blanc

À propos de la publication

Expérimentant toutes les formes de création, de la peinture à la photographie, du dessin à la création sonore, l’œuvre de David Lynch apparaît comme la plus protéiforme de notre temps. En 2007, la Fondation Cartier pour l’art contemporain présentait l’exposition-événement The Air Is on Fire, qui dévoilait le travail photographique et pictural de David Lynch. Près de quinze ans après, la Fondation Cartier publie Digital Nudes, un ensemble exceptionnel de photographies de l’artiste dédiées aux nus féminins, qui fait suite à l’ouvrage Nudes, paru en 2017.

Deuxième volet de la saga lynchienne consacrée à l’exploration photographique du corps féminin, Digital Nudes regroupe un corpus d’images numériques inédites qui s’inscrit dans l’esthétique des photographies argentiques de Nudes, tout en expérimentant les possibilités offertes par le numérique.

Visions kaléidoscopiques de jambes, de bras ou de courbes indéfinies, portraits en clair-obscur, photographies d’ongles vernis et de bouches laquées... Autant d’exemples du traitement par David Lynch de l’un des plus grands topos artistiques, le nu féminin, qui devient ici une ode à la féminité, une invitation à la contemplation et à la liberté créatrice.