Hans Ulrich Obrist, The Infinite Conversations

Purchase online

22.00 €

Publication Fondation Cartier pour l’art contemporain, Paris

French and English versions

Paperback, 13,8 × 22 cm, 320 pages


A signing will be held at the end of The Infinite Interview led by Hans Ulrich Obrist on Friday 18 October, 17:00 — 22:00

→ Find out more


Book launch during FIAC at Grand Palais on Saturday 19 October, 15:00 18:00

→ Find out more


30 conversations with Etel Adnan, Adonis, Fernando Allen, Solano Benítez, Ioana Botezatu, Gloria Cabral, Fredi Casco, Michel Cassé, Matthew Clark – UVA, Raymond Depardon, Vinciane Despret, Ticio Escobar, Flix, Élisabeth de Fontenay, Huang Yong Ping, Junya Ishigami, Guillermo Kuitca, François-Bernard Mâche, Freddy Mamani, Benjamin Millepied, Jean Nouvel, Pierre-Yves Oudeyer, Philippe Parreno, César Paternosto, Paul B. Preciado, Éliane Radigue, Patti Smith, Agnès Varda, Cédric Villani, Luiz Zerbini

ISBN: 978-2-86925-148-9

Publication: October 2019

Distribution: Thames and Hudson

About the publication

In 2014, on the occasion of the 30th anniversary of the Fondation Cartier, Hans Ulrich Obrist imagined the Infinite Conversations, a series of conversations with the artists, scientists, and thinkers close to the Fondation Cartier and its exhibition program. Since then, Hans Ulrich Obrist and the Fondation Cartier have renewed their collaboration. The exhibitions The Great Animal Orchestra (2016), Junya Ishigami, Freeing Architecture (2018), and Southern Geometries, from Mexico to Patagonia (2018) were the occasion of new “marathon dialogues” with other artists and contributors. The book The Infinite Conversations gathers together all these conversations, inviting to transcend the borders between art disciplines.

Curator and art critic, Hans Ulrich Obrist (born 1968 in Zurich) joined the Serpentine Gallery (London) as Co-Director of International Exhibitions and Programs and Director of International Projects in 2006. His interest for interviews was triggered during his studies, in the 1990s, after reading two conversations between Pierre Cabane and Marcel Duchamp, and David Sylvester and Francis Bacon. Since then, his Interview project has reached nearly 2,000 hours of conversations and given birth to many publications.

Hans Ulrich Obrist, Les Entretiens Infinis

Acheter en ligne

22,00 €

Édition Fondation Cartier pour l’art contemporain, Paris

Version française et version anglaise

Broché, 13,8 × 22 cm, 320 pages


Une signature sera proposée à l'issue de L'Entretien Infini dirigé par Hans Ulrich Obrist : vendredi 18 octobre, de 17h00 à 22h00

→ En savoir plus


Événements de lancement au Grand Palais dans le cadre de la FIAC : samedi 19 octobre, de 15h00 à 18h00

→ En savoir plus

30 conversations avec Etel Adnan, Adonis, Fernando Allen, Solano Benítez, Ioana Botezatu, Gloria Cabral, Fredi Casco, Michel Cassé, Matthew Clark – UVA, Raymond Depardon, Vinciane Despret, Ticio Escobar, Flix, Élisabeth de Fontenay, Huang Yong Ping, Junya Ishigami, Guillermo Kuitca, François-Bernard Mâche, Freddy Mamani, Benjamin Millepied, Jean Nouvel, Pierre-Yves Oudeyer, Philippe Parreno, César Paternosto, Paul B. Preciado, Éliane Radigue, Patti Smith, Agnès Varda, Cédric Villani, Luiz Zerbini

ISBN : 978-2-86925-147-2

Parution : octobre 2019

Diffusion : Actes Sud

À propos de la publication

En 2014, à l’occasion des trente ans de la Fondation Cartier, Hans Ulrich Obrist propose « L’Entretien infini » – titre emprunté à Maurice Blanchot –, un marathon de la conversation avec les artistes, scientifiques et penseurs proches de la Fondation Cartier et de sa programmation. Depuis, de nombreux entretiens ont eu lieu avec d’autres artistes et scientifiques à l’occasion des expositions Le Grand Orchestre des Animaux (2016), Junya Ishigami, Freeing Architecture (2018) et Géométries Sud, du Mexique à la Terre de feu (2018). L’intégralité de ces entretiens est aujourd’hui rassemblée dans ce livre invitant à transcender les frontières entre les disciplines et à faire voyager les idées.

Commissaire d’exposition, historien et critique d’art, Hans Ulrich Obrist (né en 1968 à Zurich) est codirecteur des expositions et directeur des projets internationaux de la Serpentine Gallery à Londres depuis 2006. Son intérêt pour les entretiens émerge pendant ses études, dans les années 1990, après la lecture de deux conversations entre Pierre Cabane et Marcel Duchamp, et entre David Sylvester et Francis Bacon. Son projet Conversations compte à ce jour près de 2 000 heures de discussions avec des artistes et a donné lieu à de nombreuses publications.