Monday, February 2, 8 pm
Georges Aperghis and the Ictus Ensemble (Jean-Luc Fafchamps and Jeanluc Plouvier)
Commented concert

A piece by Georges Aperghis (2004), 14 minutes
With Jean-Luc Fafchamps, Jean-Luc Plouvier, pianos.

The idea of the commented concert implies that, after a first intuitive listening session and a discussion of the piece (Alter-Face) with its author (Georges Aperghis) and musicians (Jean-Luc Fafchamps and Jean-Luc Plouvier), a second interpretation of the score will enable a new and wonderful listening experience.

Alter-Face; in other words, two pianos face to face, each withstanding the distortion of its lookalike, which is not one or the other, but its blurred reflection. The image quivers. Light snow fills the screen. Dancing shapes invade the visual field of those who rub their eyes too long before falling asleep (what doctors call phosphenes). A thousand phosphenes in Alter-Face, a thousand sound pixels, a thousand flying, off-center chords looking for a forever-lost gravity point, ‘turning in the night air.’ Or else, as the composer suggests, a discrete vibration and jingle of a crystal chandelier, as a ball is held upstairs on felt slippers.

Alter-Face can be heard as a tribute to Morton Feldman’s music: a constant loop of small obsessive patterns – a displaced, unexpected, asymmetrical loop that frustrates every feeling of anticipation. Nevertheless, it does not emanate the extremely dilated of time the New-York sphinx: as usual in Georges Aperghis’ work, time is meticulously ribbed, palpitating, streaked, cut-up directly from the muscle. In this compact network, the two interprets struggle face to face, without a cry, never totally free nor completely in sync.”

© Mikael Libert et © Suzanne DOPPELT


Open mobile menu
Close mobile menu